2011-12 Capitals Awards Ceremony: Craig Berube Award

The Craig Berube Award is presented annually to the Washington Capitals player who had the most exciting fight of the year. The award was previously named for former Capitals captain Dale Hunter, who was a wolverine on the ice accumulating 3565 penalty minutes in his NHL career, which is the most of any player to reach the 1000-point mark (and 2nd all time for the NHL). Due to Hunter’s recent stint as the Caps’ Coach, we decided to re-name the award to honor (?) former enforcer extraordinaire Craig “the Cheif” Berube played seven seasons in DC, stretched over 2 stints. He amassed 3149 penalty minutes in his career, and had several seasons of 20+ fights

Former winners of the Dale Hunter Craig Berube Award include Matt Bradley in 2009-10 and John Erskine in 2010-11.


This year’s nominations are:

John Erskine vs. Arron Asham starring in Jay Beagle’s Revenge

5:22 into the 1st Period  on December 1st, 2011


Troy Brouwer vs. Jesse Winchester starring in Uppercuts en route to a Gordie Howe Hat Trick.

5:39 into the 1st Period on December 7th, 2011



Troy Brouwer vs. Tyler Kennedy starring in Pig Roast.

16:58 into the 2nd Period on January 22, 2012





And the winner is…



John Erskine fights Arron Asham

John Erskine!


All videos courtesy of HockeyFights.com