2010-11 Capitals Awards Ceremony: Dale Hunter Award

[Ed. Note: Mixed in with our presentation of actual NHL Awards (divied out to the 2010-11 Washington Capitals squad) the bloggers of Rock the Red have developed some awards of our own (like the Green Jacket Award), which we will be sprinkling in occasionally. Anything to help a long off season go by quicker, right?]

The Dale Hunter Award is presented annually to the Washington Capitals player who had the most exciting fight of the year. The award is justly named for former Capitals captain who is known being a foul artist, pest, nuisance and all around bad-ass. A genuine good hearted and humble teammate off the ice, Hunter was a wolverine on it and accumulated 3565 penalty minutes in his NHL career, the most of any player to reach the 1000-point mark and currently ranks 2nd all time for the NHL. Standing 5’10” at weighing in at 200 lbs he still managed to amass 222 “official” fights with a record of 21-20-31. The incumbent Caps’ Dale Hunter Award holder is Matt Bradley.


And the nominees are…



In alphabetical order:

Matt Bradley vs Tyson Strachan starring in Recyle THIS Chump
1st Period 18:28 on March 3, 2011


John Erskine vs Eric Boulton starring in These Are Not Love Taps
2nd Period 10:39 on November 14, 2010




Matt Hendricks vs Steve Downie starring in I’ll Whoop Ya Blindfolded! or Learning The More Colorful Side of the English Language
2nd Period 9:35 on January 4, 2011


Honorable Mention:

John Erskine vs Michael Rupp starring in Ringing In The New Year

1st Period 11:52 on January 1, 2011



And the winner of the inaugural Dale Hunter Award for engaging in the most bad-ass fight is: John Erskine for his bout with Eric Boulton while sporting that sweet, sweet ‘stache.